Wake, The - Testament (Best of)

Factory Benelux
(FBN095-2: 708527001950/FBN095-1: 708527001967)
Release date: 09/29/2014
Genre: Post Punk

Spotify  iTunes  Amazon 

Testament is a comprehensive 'best of' collection by influential Glasgow group The Wake, including tracks recorded for cult labels Factory and Sarah Records.

The album combines key album tracks with singles including On Our Honeymoon, Something Outside, Talk About the Past, Of the Matter and Crush the Flowers. Also included are a previously unreleased 7" edit of Pale Spectre (issued as a white label promo by Factory), and (on the CD version only) 2012 studio outtake Clouds Disco.

The vinyl edition includes an exclusive 54 minute bonus CD featuring 21 early live and demo recordings from 1981/82, preserved in the tape archive of Joy Division/New Order manager Rob Gretton. Among these priceless lost recordings are 7 songs never before heard even on bootlegs.

The matt reverse board artwork is based on the artwork for the boxed cassette edition of Here Comes Everybody, designed by Peter Saville.

CD tracklist:

1. On Our Honeymoon
2. Favour
3. Heartburn
4. Something Outside
5. Talk About the Past (7" edit)
6. O Pamela
7. Melancholy Man
8. Here Comes Everybody
9. Of the Matter
10. Gruesome Castle
11. Pale Spectre (7" edit)
12. Crush the Flowers
13. Firestone Tyres
14. A Light Far Out
15. Clouds Disco

Vinyl LP tracklist:

A1. On Our Honeymoon
A2. Favour
A3. Something Outside (edit)
A4. Talk About the Past (7" edit)
A5. O Pamela
B1. Melancholy Man
B2. Of the Matter
B3. Pale Spectre (7" edit)
B4. Crush the Flowers
B5. Methodist
bonus archive CD:
1. Move With the Times (demo)
2. Communion (demo)
3. No More Green Space (demo)
4. Move With the Times (Reprise) (demo)
5. Move With the Times (live 1981)
6. Cold Home (live 1981)
7. Communion (live 1981)
8. No More Green Space (live 1981)
9. Patrol (live 1981)
10. Give Up (live 1981)
11. Careering (live 1981)
12. Favour (live 1982)
13. Cold Home (live 1982)
14. Forced to Think (live 1982)
15. Patrol (live 1982)
16. Give Up (live 1982)
17. Move With the Times (live 1982)
18. An Immaculate Conception (live 1982)
19. Chance (demo)
20. Judas (demo)
21. Company (live 1983)

Related Items

Wake, The - Here Comes Everybody
Wake, The - Here Comes Everybody $14.75
Quick Shop
Section 25 - Always Now
Section 25 - Always Now $79.00
Quick Shop
Tunnelvision - Watching the Hydroplanes
Tunnelvision - Watching the Hydroplanes $22.00
Quick Shop
Crispy Ambulance - The Plateau Phase
Crispy Ambulance - The Plateau Phase $24.00 - Sold Out
Quick Shop
Durutti Column, The - Obey the Time
Durutti Column, The - Obey the Time from $18.00 - $24.00
Quick Shop
Durutti Column, The - Without Mercy
Durutti Column, The - Without Mercy from $20.00 - $25.00
Quick Shop
Durutti Column, The - M24J (Anthology)
Durutti Column, The - M24J (Anthology) from $14.75 - $25.00
Quick Shop
Names, The - Swimming
Names, The - Swimming $21.99 - Sold Out
Quick Shop