Minny Pops - Drastic Measures, Drastic Movement

Factory Benelux
(FBN13: 708527002575)
Release date: 1979
Genre: Post Punk

Spotify  iTunes  Amazon  GooglePlay  Apple  Pandora 

An expanded 2xCD edition of Drastic Measures, Drastic Movement, the first studio album by Dutch electronic pioneers Minny Pops, originally released on Plurex in September 1979.

Formed in Amsterdam in 1978 by vocalist Wally van Middendorp, Minny Pops took their name from the primitive Korg drum machine which propelled their austere, post-punk rhythms and provocative live performances. An early association with Factory Records in Manchester saw the band work with producer Martin Hannett, share stages with Joy Division and New Order, and become the first Dutch band to record a BBC radio session for John Peel.

Drastic Measures, Drastic Movement first appeared on Dutch label Plurex Records in September 1979. An artful, uncompromising album, the 13 track set mixes hard-edged electronica with modernist noise, sharing something in common with contemporaries Cabaret Voltaire, The Normal, Suicide and early Human League. As well as an early version of classic Factory single Dolphin's Spurt, the album also includes junk-food satire MD Mania and a cover of R.U.21 by US punk band Novak.

The 9 bonus tracks on Disc 1 include all three tracks from their debut ep Kojak, also released in 1979, as well as a 2003 remix of Dolphins Spurt by Zip and DJ Smacker. Disc 1 is completed by 12 minutes of vintage audio-visual clips featuring 5 live tracks recorded at the Amsterdam Filmakademie in 1979, playable in QuickTime format.

This expanded FBN edition also adds a bonus Disc 2 featuring a live re-interpretation of Drastic Measures, Drastic Movement recorded at Amsterdam Dansmakers on 11 March 2012, with members Wally van Middendorp, Pieter Mulder, Dennis Duchhart, Thomas Myrmel, Bart de Vrees, Jeroen Kimman and Wilbert Bulsink.

Cover art by Rob Van Middendorp.


Disc 1:

1. Springtime I
2. Minny Pops
3. Hologram
4. Total Confusion
5. Dolphins Spurt
6. Motor City
7. Springtime II
8. Monica
9. Flash Goes the Eye
10. M.D. Mania
11. R.U. 21
12. Mono
13. Muzak
14. Kojak
15. Footsteps
16. Nervous
17. Dolphins Spurt (2003 remix)
18. New Muzak (video)
19. Total Confusion (video)
20. Mono (video)
21. M.D. Mania (video)
22. Dolphin's Spurt (video)

Disc 2 (live):

1. Springtime I (live)
2. Minny Pops (live)
3. Hologram (live)
4. Total Confusion (live)
5. Dolphins Spurt (live)
6. Motor City - Springtime II (live)
7. Monica (live)
8. Flash Goes the Eye (live)
9. M.D. Mania (live)
10. R.U. 21 (live)
11. Mono (live)
12. Muzak (live)

Related Items

Crispy Ambulance - Fin + Frozen Blood
Crispy Ambulance - Fin + Frozen Blood $15.00
Quick Shop
Section 25 - Nature + Degree
Section 25 - Nature + Degree $22.00
Quick Shop
Section 25 - Part-Primitive
Section 25 - Part-Primitive $22.00
Quick Shop
Section 25 - Retrofit
Section 25 - Retrofit $22.00
Quick Shop
Section 25 - Dark Light
Section 25 - Dark Light $22.00
Quick Shop
Kreisler String Orchestra - 226
Kreisler String Orchestra - 226 from $10.00 - $12.00
Quick Shop
Steve Martland - Babi Yar + Drill
Steve Martland - Babi Yar + Drill from $10.00 - $12.00
Quick Shop
Duke String Quartet - 246
Duke String Quartet - 246 from $10.00 - $12.00
Quick Shop