Durutti Column, The - The Guitar and Other Machines (Deluxe)

Factory Benelux
(FBN204-2: 708527170861/FBN204-1: 708527170854/FBN204-1B: 708527170854)
Release date: 01/12/2018
Genre: Electronic

Factory Benelux presents expanded  2xLP and 3xCD deluxe editions of The Guitar and Other Machines, the sixth studio album by Manchester ensemble The Durutti Column, originally released by Factory Records in 1987.
The origin of The Guitar and Other Machines was the Christmas present given by Factory founder Tony Wilson to Durutti mainman Vini Reilly in 1985. “He gave me another kick and bought me a load of electronic instruments,” revealed Reilly at the time. “I never dreamt of getting into this electronic thing, and I struggled and fought and stayed up til half seven in the morning and really worked on it. I know that Tony’s got this vision and I persevered. And I found a way of using a sequencer that isn’t like New Order – it’s my way, and it’s my music.”

Produced by Stephen Street (The Smiths; Morrissey), the album also features percussionist Bruce Mitchell and viola player John Metcalfe. Remastered in 2017, this new FBN edition restores all three bonus tracks included on the original Factory CD, being experimental pieces written and recorded with Jez Kerr and Simon Topping of A Certain Ratio.
CD disc two gathers together a wealth of associated recordings, including the rare Greetings 3 EP (released only in Italy), non-album tracks such as Our Lady of the Angels, LFO Mod, and the exquisite acoustic instrumental Catos con Guantes. Other tracks on Disc 2 include various mixes of When the World (a video single at the time), oddball Jefferson Airplane cover White Rabbit (recorded in LA on a whim with guest vocalist Debi Diamond), and several ‘sporadic recordings’ which revisit themes first heard on the original album.
CD disc three is an in-concert recording of the band taped at the famous Bottom Line club in New York City in October 1987, along with two further live tracks taped at the WOMAD festival in August 1988.
The 3xCD set is housed in a clamshell box with individual interior wallets. A double disc vinyl edition will also be available, featuring the core studio album on Disc 1 and live versions of selected album tracks on Disc 2.

Vinyl LP disc two features in concert versions of album tracks taped by the trio at the Bottom Line club in New York City in October 1986, as well as the WOMAD festival in August 1988.
The remastered vinyl set is housed in a gatefold vinyl sleeve which preserves the original album artwork by 8vo.
CD tracklist:
Disc 1  
1. Arpeggiator
2. What It Is to Me (Woman)
3. Red Shoes
4. Jongleur Grey
5. When the World
6. U.S.P.
7. Bordeaux Sequence
8. Pol in B
9. English Landscape Tradition
10. Miss Haymes
11. Don’t Think You’re Funny
12. Dream Topping
13. You Won’t Feel Out of Place
14. 28 Oldham Street
15. LFO Mod
16. Catos con Guantes
Disc 2  
1. Florence Sunset  
2. All That Love and Maths Can Do  
3. San Giovanni Dawn  
4. For Friends in Italy
5. Our Lady of the Angels
6. Red Shoes (VR vocal)  
7. Song for Les Preger
8. For Rebecca
9. Final Cut
10. When the World (Newson Mix) 
11. Arpeggiator II
12. Pol in AB
13. 30 Oldham Street
14. When the World (Soundtrack) 
15. Our Lady
16. White Rabbit
17. When the World (Version)
Disc 3  
1. Prayer (live)
2. Arpeggiator (live)
3. Our Lady of the Angels (live)
4. Pol in B (live)
5. Miss Haymes (live)
6. For Mother (live)
7. Requiem (live)
8. Jacqueline (live)
9. Elevator Sequence (live) 
10. The Missing Boy (live)
11. When the World (live)
12. Tomorrow (live)
13. English Landscape Tradition (live)
14. Bordeaux Sequence (live)

2xLP tracklist:
Disc 1  
A1. Arpeggiator
A2. What It Is to Me (Woman)
A3. Red Shoes
A4. Jongleur Grey
A5. When the World
A6. U.S.P.
B1. Bordeaux Sequence
B2. Pol in B
B3. English Landscape Tradition
B4. Miss Haymes
B5. Don’t Think You’re Funny
Disc 2 
C1. Arpeggiator (live)
C2. Our Lady of the Angels (live)
C3. Pol in B (live)
C4. Miss Haymes (live)
D1. When the World (live)
D2. English Landscape Tradition (live)
D3. Bordeaux Sequence (live)

Related Items

Crispy Ambulance - Fin + Frozen Blood
Crispy Ambulance - Fin + Frozen Blood $15.00
Quick Shop
Section 25 - Nature + Degree
Section 25 - Nature + Degree $22.00
Quick Shop
Section 25 - Part-Primitive
Section 25 - Part-Primitive $22.00
Quick Shop
Section 25 - Retrofit
Section 25 - Retrofit $22.00
Quick Shop
Section 25 - Dark Light
Section 25 - Dark Light $22.00
Quick Shop
Kreisler String Orchestra - 226
Kreisler String Orchestra - 226 from $10.00 - $12.00
Quick Shop
Steve Martland - Babi Yar + Drill
Steve Martland - Babi Yar + Drill from $10.00 - $12.00
Quick Shop
Duke String Quartet - 246
Duke String Quartet - 246 from $10.00 - $12.00
Quick Shop