Durutti Column, The - M24J (Anthology)

Factory Benelux
(FBN164-2: 708527170977/FBN164-1: 708527170960)
Release date: 09/07/2018
Genre: Rock

21 track 2xLP+7" with download in gatefold jacket
33 track 2xCD

M24J (Anthology) is a collection of valuable passages recorded by The Durutti Column between 1979 and 2011 for various iterations of Factory Records, including poignant tributes to manager/mentor Anthony H. Wilson.
Available as a double CD set (and also a double vinyl), M24J (Anthology) includes selections from The Return of the Durutti Column, LC, Another Setting, Short Stories for Pauline, Without Mercy, Circuses and Bread, The Guitar and Other Machines, Vini Reilly, Obey the Time, Treatise on the Steppenwolf and A Paean to Wilson.
“The Durutti Column was Tony’s baby,” says Durutti mainman Vini Reilly. “We were the first act signed up to his Factory club night, and the first band signed to Factory Records. Tony became my mentor, somebody to look up to. He was a very tough character, yet he was very gentle. He had many sides. The biggest arguments with Tony were that he wanted to stop me singing with my schoolboy lyrics and my dreadful voice.

Reilly’s music remains resolutely unclassifiable, and sounds better and better with each passing year. “Don’t listen to the form,” he insists, “listen to the content. Don't listen to the style, the tradition, the technique, just the content of the music. Then judge. People say The Durutti Column is this or that. I don’t care so long as we make good music. There's so much good music around. Don't bother with form. Just enjoy.”
Bonus tracks on the CD version include three tracks recorded live in Leeds on 7 October 1980, these being the earliest preserved professional in concert recordings by Vini Reilly. The cover portrait of Vini Reilly is by Mark Warner.
CD tracklist:

Disc 1 
1. Sketch for Summer
2. Conduct
3. Lips That Would Kiss
4. For Belgian Friends
5. Danny
6. Messidor
7. The Beggar (live in Paris)
8. Prayer
9. Mercy Theme (Duet)
10. Estoril a Noite
11. College
12. All That Love and Maths Can Do
13. Pauline
14. Arpeggiator
15. Catos con Guantes
16. Otis
17. Love No More
18. My Country
Disc 2
1. Home
2. Art and Freight
3. My Only Love
4. A Beautiful Thought Pt 1
5. The Title On the Cover
6. Bruce
7. The Missing Boy
8. Anthony (Favourite Descending Intervals)
9. A Paean to Wilson I: Or Are You Just a Technician?
10. A Paean to Wilson II: Chant
11. A Paean to Wilson IX: Darkness Here
12. Glimpse
13. Detail for Annik (live in Leeds 1980)
14. Sketch for Summer (live in Leeds 1980)
15. Requiem for a Father (live in Leeds 1980)

LP tracklist:

Disc 1
A1. Sketch for Summer
A2. Lips That Would Kiss
A3. For Belgian Friends
A4. Danny
A5. Messidor
B1. Mercy Theme (Duet)
B2. Estoril a Noite
B3. All That Love and Maths Can Do
B4. Catos con Guantes

Disc 2
C1. Prayer
C2. Otis
C3. Love No More
C4. Home
C5. A Beautiful Thought
D1. Anthony (Favourite Descending Intervals)
D2. A Paean to Wilson I: Or Are You Just a Technician?
D3. A Paean to Wilson II: Chant
D4. A Paean to Wilson IX: Darkness Here
D5. Glimpse

Disc 3  (7-inch)
E1. Albatross (live in Nottingham 2004)
F1. Spooky Tune (live in Manchester 2011)

Related Items

Crispy Ambulance - Fin + Frozen Blood
Crispy Ambulance - Fin + Frozen Blood $15.00
Quick Shop
Section 25 - Nature + Degree
Section 25 - Nature + Degree $22.00
Quick Shop
Section 25 - Part-Primitive
Section 25 - Part-Primitive $22.00
Quick Shop
Section 25 - Retrofit
Section 25 - Retrofit $22.00
Quick Shop
Section 25 - Dark Light
Section 25 - Dark Light $22.00
Quick Shop
Kreisler String Orchestra - 226
Kreisler String Orchestra - 226 from $10.00 - $12.00
Quick Shop
Steve Martland - Babi Yar + Drill
Steve Martland - Babi Yar + Drill from $10.00 - $12.00
Quick Shop
Duke String Quartet - 246
Duke String Quartet - 246 from $10.00 - $12.00
Quick Shop