Elf Power - When the Red King Comes   [PREORDER]

Orange Twin
(OTR056-1: 708527230046/OTR056-2: 639980000726/OTR056-3)
Release date: 01/05/2018
Genre: Indie Rock

Release date: 5/3/2024

Preorder: Limited edition of 500 LP+7".

CD & digital available now.

Elf Power's legendary 1997 album remastered and reissued on limited edition red vinyl. Featuring guest appearances from Neutral Milk Hotel’s Jeff Mangum and Julian Koster, Of Montreal’s Kevin Barnes, and Sugar’s David Barbe.

Vinyl includes a bonus 7 inch of 2 songs recorded in the same sessions, including a song that was partially recorded in 1997, and finished by the original band members in 2022. Download code included.

LP track list:

1. Step Through the Portal…
2. …Into the Everlasting Time
3. The Frightened Singers
4. The Secret Ocean
5. The Arrow Flies Close
6. Icy Hands Will Never Melt Away
7. When the Red King Comes

Side Two

1. The Separating Fault
2. Spectators
3. Introducing Cosmic Space
4. The Bengal Parade
5. Needles in the Camels Eyes...
6. ...The Silver Lake
7. It's Been A Million Years

Bonus 7" (w/ LP only):

1. Historical Ant Wars
2. The Submerged Stone

Original description:

When the Red King Comes is the second album by Elephant 6 band Elf Power. It is a concept album about the Red King's kingdom.

As the Elephant 6 catalog continues to expand, it becomes increasingly obvious that many of the label's bands are concerned not merely with creating fresh and exciting music but rather entire mythologies, crafting obscure concept records exploring the intricacies of strange pocket universes. Existing in the musical gray area between Olivia Tremor Control and Neutral Milk Hotel -- both of whose members make cameos here -- Elf Power's superb When the Red King Comes is a heady journey to a psychedelic utopia, a travelogue with such destinations as "The Secret Ocean," "The Separating Fault," and "The Silver Lake." As imagined primarily by singer/songwriter Andrew Rieger, the album is a odyssey "Into the Everlasting Time," and true to its word, it seems to exist outside of any obvious era -- the fuzzy, lo-fi production is an Elephant 6 hallmark, but the unique instrumentation (electric horns, pump organs, even Nepalese percussion) and cryptic, stream-of-consciousness wordplay suggest something altogether different; perhaps most telling is When the Red King Comes' cover, a crazed map suggesting something out of a J.R.R. Tolkien fever dream.

CD digital track list:

1 Step Through The Portal...
2 Into The Everlasting Time
3 The Frightened Singers
4 The Secret Ocean
5 The Arrow Flies Close
6 Icy Hands Will Never Melt Away
7 When The Red King Comes
8 The Separating Fault
9 Spectators
10 Introducing Cosmic Space
11 The Bengal Parade
12 Needles In The Camels Eyes...
13 The Silver Lake
14 It's Been A Million Years

Related Items

Mick Chillage - Devotology
Mick Chillage - Devotology $13.80
Quick Shop
David Michael Matuch - Brain Storm: Adventures in Hypoxia
David Michael Matuch - Brain Storm: Adventures in Hypoxia from $8.00 - $11.40
Quick Shop
Graham Winchester - Nobody Waters the Flowers
Graham Winchester - Nobody Waters the Flowers from $8.00 - $22.00
Quick Shop