Boyracer - A Punch Up The Bracket

(555CD72: 708527167229)
Release date: 02/14/2006
Genre: Indie Pop, Rock

2006 sees a brand new full length, (their 8th in 16 years), from transatlantic transplanted indie punkers Boyracer. With a new breadth of instrumentation on hand, core members Stewart Anderson and Jen Turrell have assembled their most accessable, cohesive and inventive full length to date. In doing so Boyracer have built upon their historic fuzzed up 90s lo-fi roots. A Punch Up The Bracket" includes a smattering of the trademark Boyracer blitzkriegs they're so well are known for, interspersed with several structured acoustic popsongs, and more complex rhythms than previously attempted. Intact and upfront throughout is Boyracer's established melodic content, with assured vocal delivery from Stewart and Jen. Also included on the recordings are Ara (Saturday People/Castaway Stones etc.), Chuck (Bright Lights), and Swedish guest star Martin (Javelins). Often misunderstood and criticized for their pop-brevity, this time around Boyracer deliver their longest full length to date, with 21 songs clocking in at a staggering 45 minutes!

"Boyracer are still the prefects of the pop punk perfect, whose labours have been in danger of giving "indie" a good name for so long now." --In Love With These Times.

"Lead racer Stewart Anderson is brilliant at channeling not just indignation and rebellion, but also a bittersweet feeling of longing" --Erasing Clouds.

"Boyracer is an institution-- maybe not The Beatles, but The Kinks, at least." --Pitchfork Media.

"Boyracer releases have a much higher signal-to-noise ratio now than they did in the ‘90s,… another small triumph in a discography that’s already chock full of small triumphs." --Mundane Sounds.

Track list: 1. A Punch Up The Bracket, 2. The Man The Myth, 3. Second Hand Youth, 4. Secret Jokes, 5. The Toilets Of Northern Europe, 6. Insect Boy, 7. A Happy Accident, 8. No Tears, 9, Geordie Lout, 10. The Desperate Hours, 11. Yr Love It Lies To You, 12. Contradictions, 13. Normal, 14. Perennial Underdog, 15. Louise (New Version), 16. Stand By Your Words, 17. Yr Silent Years, 18. Kids Don't Follow, 19. More Than Most, 20. Pleasantries, 21. Tactile.

Related Items

(Ex) Cat Heads, The - Our Frisco
(Ex) Cat Heads, The - Our Frisco $7.80
Quick Shop
17 Pictures (Weschel Garland) - 17 Pictures
17 Pictures (Weschel Garland) - 17 Pictures $11.99
Quick Shop
17 Pygmies - Jedda By The Sea + Captured In Ice
17 Pygmies - Jedda By The Sea + Captured In Ice $14.75
Quick Shop
23 Skidoo - Beyond Time
23 Skidoo - Beyond Time from $7.00 - $21.00
Quick Shop
23 Skidoo - Just Like Everybody
23 Skidoo - Just Like Everybody $14.75
Quick Shop
23 Skidoo - Seven Songs + Singles
23 Skidoo - Seven Songs + Singles $13.99
Quick Shop
23 Skidoo - The Culling is Coming
23 Skidoo - The Culling is Coming $13.99
Quick Shop
23 Skidoo - Urban Gamelan
23 Skidoo - Urban Gamelan $13.99
Quick Shop