Rumskib - Rumskib (Expanded Edition)

(DRL164-1B/DRL164-3/DRL164-4/DRL164-1: 708527016411/DRL164-2: 708527016428)

Remastered by Jonas Munk. Three bonus tracks: Shine, Secrets, Neon Touch (previously unreleased).

Limited edition of 200 black vinyl 2xLP

Limited edition of 300 transparent red with black swirl vinyl 2xLP (sold out)
CD (Original 2007 pressing, not remastered, no bonus tracks) (sold out)

Rumskib's first and only album will be available on vinyl. The 2xLP will be available in limited editions of both color and black vinyl with three bonus tracks: An ultra rare Slowdive cover "Shine" as well as two tracks recorded after the album's release. "Secrets" was originally featured on Little Darla has a Treat for You, Vol. 27. "Neon Touch" has never previously been released in any form.

Rumskib was a duo from Odense, Denmark consisting of Keith Canisius and Tine Louise Kortermand. When Rumskib's self-titled debut was first released back in 2007, it came out amidst a shoegaze and dream-pop revival. My Bloody Valentine had just reformed and lots of new bands – in rock as well as electronica – were rediscovering the first wave of British shoegaze bands and were exploring loud, hazy, transcendent sounds. Rumskib, however, were doing it their own way. At heart they were a pop band. And their sound - as experimental and far reaching as it is - has neatly arranged songwriting at its core. Add to that the fact that Rumskib were absorbing new wave bands from the 1980s as much as noisy bands from the British shoegaze scene and they weren't afraid reaching for grand hooks.

There's a radiant, uplifting quality to Rumskib's sonic excursions. For the album's production the duo teamed up with producer Jonas Munk (a.k.a solo ambient artist Manual, Billow Observatory and Ulrich Schnauss collaborator), who added synths and neatly programmed beats and electronics to all the tracks, and is responsible for the shimmering, expansive mix.

Following the album Rumskib did play several shows, mostly in their native Scandinavia but also made it to London's legendary Club AC30 with Ulrich Schnauss and Manual. They never recorded a follow-up but the album managed to stay alive nonetheless, slowly gaining status as a ”nu-gaze” classic. It currently has over 1,500,000 streams on Spotify.

Rumskib is an album of well concealed pop gems that recall some of the genres heavyweight performers, such as My Bloody Valentine and the Cocteau Twins. -No Ripcord

The style is familiar, but no less special for it, especially considering how enthusiastically it's played, how lovely the atmosphere, how pretty the melodies, and how the songs are constructed with a spirit of adventure and joy. -Erasing Clouds

By cleverly emphasizing the “pop” in dreampop and injecting in to it their own Scandinavian weirdness, Rumskib have hit upon all that was good about their heroes and proved that it really doesn’t matter if you don’t understand the lyrics, it is best just to lose yourself in the exquisite music. -Leonard's Lair

Much of shoegazer music has this air of being lofty and distant, with the human aspect so completely buried under layers upon layers of noise that it’s reduced to just another instrument. It’s impressive to listen to, but sometimes difficult to connect to emotionally. Rumskib creates the same impressive sounds, but there’s also a sense of joy and excitement that is constantly bubbling up from just below the surface of the album. The end result is shoegazer pop that proves to be far more affecting and infectious than one might initially think. -Opus Zine

Original release description:

Darla is proud to release the debut record by Danish Shoegaze/Dreampop group Rumskib. Rumskib is the Odense, Denmark duo of Keith Canisius (Guitarist, Vocalist, Composer, Producer) and Tine Louise Kortermand (Vocalist). Keith produced the debut record with Jonas Munk (Manual), who programmed the beats, made the electronic sounds, and played synthesizer.

Rumskib's debut record begins with a Simple Minds New Gold Dream style intro. A rough & repetitive MBV Loveless style guitar line kicks in. Next an aggressive baggy beat begins to pump making Rumskib sound nearly like Curve. Then a very lovely surprise: A very pretty, Lush style guitar change comes and simultaneously the wall of sound vocal harmonies begin -- like Emma, Miki... and Bjork! There's no denying Rumskib are derivative, however, Rumskib has such command of all the genre's key sound elements and their own pop songs are so damn good the band gloriously claim the new shoegaze sound as their own.

Rumskib's sound is at once modern and classic, blending a strong love for early 90s shoegazer bands such as Chapterhouse and Lush with the sensibilities of grand Scandinavian 80s pop such as A-Ha and Roxette, all flavored with harsh noise-rock guitars and crunchy micro-programmed beats. Sometimes their sound is up-tempo, almost danceable like The Cardigans meet St. Etienne. At other times their sound is thick, heavy, and romantic recalling The Cocteau Twins or Simple Minds. Rumskib manage to be both surrealist and accessible; complex but straight forward. Vocalist Tine Louise creates harmonies so beautiful one would think they came from some mysterious wonderland (or Victorialand?) and Keith Canisius' lyrical call & response guitar playing is intelligent and evocative. Combine all this with well crafted compositions and Jonas Munk's trademark head-spinning, multi-layered sound sculptures, and you've got a work of undeniable beauty.

"This is great stuff indeed. Her voice sounds amazing and it´s such good melodies" --ULRICH SCHNAUSS

""Re-evokes my dancing feet with the fragrance of Liz Fraser insanity there on top.. humm..There' s some serious celebration going on in Scandinavia now." --SERENA MANEESH

""Springtime" kills, kills again, and then kills some more. And then bathes in in the blood of its own awesomeness." --JATUN

2xLP track list:

A1. Hearts On Fire
A2. Springtime
A3. Dreampopper's Tribute

B1. Where Are The Flowers
B2. Ferris Wheel Blackout
B3. Think Eyes Away
B4. You're My Japan
B5. Sneak

C1. Crucial Love Games
C2. Ovation Outsiders
C3. Girl Afraid
C4. Love At First Sight

D1. Secrets
D2. Shine
D3. Neon Touch

All music written by Keith Canisius, except tracks #5 and #12 written by Keith Canisius and Jonas Munk

All lyrics by Keith Canisius and Tine Louise Kortermand, except tracks #1 and #11 by Keith Canisius, and tracks #4 and #9 by Tine Louise Kortermand.

All drum programming, synths and electronics on tracks 1-12 by Jonas Munk. Synth arrangements on tracks #1 and #11 by Keith Canisius and Jonas Munk. Additional guitars on track #6 by Jonas Munk.

Mixed by Keith Canisius and Jonas Munk. Mastered by Jonas Munk.

Related Items

Ralph Vaughan Williams - Sinfonia Antartica/Scott of the Antarctic
Ralph Vaughan Williams - Sinfonia Antartica/Scott of the Antarctic $13.99
Quick Shop
Rapoon - Downgliding
Rapoon - Downgliding $12.00
Quick Shop
Razorcuts - A Is For Alphabet
Razorcuts - A Is For Alphabet $5.50
Quick Shop
RCO - Radical Chill Out
RCO - Radical Chill Out $11.40
Quick Shop
Rebe - Solo Pasiones...
Rebe - Solo Pasiones... $15.98
Quick Shop
Red Sleeping Beauty - From Sarah with Love EP
Red Sleeping Beauty - From Sarah with Love EP $8.80
Quick Shop
Red Sleeping Beauty - Stockholm
Red Sleeping Beauty - Stockholm $12.00
Quick Shop
Red Sleeping Beauty - Tonight EP
Red Sleeping Beauty - Tonight EP $5.80
Quick Shop