Black Cube Marriage - Astral Cube

El Paraiso
Release date: 05/12/2017
Genre: Rock, Psychedelic

Spotify  iTunes  Amazon  Apple 
Black Cube Marriage is a unique ensemble consisting of legendary Chicago-based cornetist, sound manipulator and improviser Rob Mazurek (Exploding Star Orchestra, Isotope 217, Chicago Underground Collective), members of his Brazilian connection Sao Paolo Underground, Austin-based freeform unit Marriage and special guests Jonathan Horne (guitar, saxophone) and Steve Jansen (tapes, guitar).
Formed in the wake of a couple of Austin, Texas shows in late 2015, this 11-person strong ensemble creates waves of sound that can best be described as cathartic. Astral Cube draws from multiple styles and traditions and the result is a sonic eruption where past, present, north, east, south, organic and electronic collides and is poured into the unknown. Traces of cosmic jazz – think Don Cherry, Pharoah Sanders, Sun Ra – appears alongside abstract electronics and heavily manipulated instruments – not unlike Autechre or Matmos.
Occasionally the sounds this group is creating conjures mental imagery of flourishing nature, colourful wildlife, flowing mountain streams and ancient rituals – other times the glistening sonic textures evokes images of buzzing urban power lines or technology gone haywire. It’s ceremonial, yet deeply futuristic music. Powerful, unknown, surreal. A sonic outpouring of light an energy. This is post-everything psychedelia at the outer limits of musical possibilities.

1. Spectral Convergence Wing
2. Fractal Signa Clone
3. Magic Sun Ray
4. Time Shatters Forward
5. Syncretic Illumine
6. Psychic Tremble
7. Ecliptic Wave Burst

Related Items

Kanaan - Odense Sessions
Kanaan - Odense Sessions $7.00
Quick Shop
Kanaan - Of Raging Billows Breaking on the Ground
Kanaan - Of Raging Billows Breaking on the Ground $1.00
Quick Shop
Mythic Sunship - Changing Shapes
Mythic Sunship - Changing Shapes $7.00
Quick Shop
Astral TV - Travelling the Circuits
Astral TV - Travelling the Circuits $8.00
Quick Shop
Videodrones - Atavistic Future
Videodrones - Atavistic Future from $7.00 - $8.00
Quick Shop
Monarch - Beyond The Blue Sky
Monarch - Beyond The Blue Sky from $7.00 - $8.00
Quick Shop
Jonas Munk, Nicklas Sørensen - Always Already Here
Jonas Munk, Nicklas Sørensen - Always Already Here from $7.00 - $8.00
Quick Shop
Causa Sui - Summer Sessions, Vol. 3
Causa Sui - Summer Sessions, Vol. 3 $7.00
Quick Shop