Pauline Murray and the Invisible Girls - Pauline Murray and the Invisible Girls

Les Disques du Crepuscule
(TWI016-1: 708527002032/TWI016-2: 708527002049)
Release date: 1980
Genre: Post Punk

Spotify  iTunes  Amazon  GooglePlay  Apple 

Les Disques du Crepuscule presents a deluxe remastered edition of Pauline Murray and the Invisible Girls, the debut album by post/punk icon Pauline Murray, produced by revered sonic architect Martin ‘Zero’ Hannett.

Recorded at the famous Strawberry Studios in July 1980, the album offered epic electronic pop written by Pauline and partner Robert Blamire and marked a radical departure from their shared past in pioneering punk band Penetration. “This is sophistication,” enthused Paul Morley in NME. “Lovely songs of anxiety, malaise and self-doubt.” According to Melody Maker the album was “unquestionably a musical highpoint of this year or any other.”

As well producer/arrangers Martin Hannett and Steve Hopkins (aka the Invisible Girls), the album features a stellar cast of guest musicians including John Maher (Buzzcocks) and Vini Reilly (Durutti Column). Indeed Pauline Murray and the Invisible Girls presents almost a Factory record, exquisitely sleeved by Peter Saville and Trevor Key. Stand-out tracks include the popular singles Dream Sequence and Mr X, with the newly remastered Hannett tracks now augmented by a wealth of bonus material including non-album singles, b-sides and a John Peel session (1980).

The liner note is by Jon Savage. The double vinyl edition also includes a bonus CD featuring instrumental versions of all the album tracks (a must for students of Hannett’s unique production sound), along with alternate takes of key singles.

“It’s a bit of a missing link album,” says Pauline today. “Written and recorded after punk, but before Martin Rushent and the Human League made airy pop respectable again. We chose the other Martin in 1980 because we wanted the incredible sounds he achieved for Joy Division and Magazine. Thundertunes, basically.”

2xLP + bonus CD album tracklist:

Disc 1:

A1. Screaming In the Darkness
A2. Dream Sequence
A3. European Eyes
A4. Shoot You Down
A5. Sympathy
A6. Time Slipping
B1. Drummer Boy
B2. Thundertunes
B3. When Will We Learn
B4. Mr X
B5. Judgement Day

Disc 2:

C1. Searching for Heaven
C2. The Visitor
C3. Animal Crazy
C4. Dream Sequence II
C5. Two Shots
D1. Dream Sequence (Peel 3/1980)
D2. Shoot You Down (Peel 3/1980)
D3. Sympathy (Peel 3/1980)
D4. When Will We Learn (Peel 3/1980)

Disc 3 (bonus CD):

1. Two Shots (instrumental)
2. Mr X (instrumental)
3. Judgement Day (instrumental)
4. Thundertunes (instrumental)
5. When Will We Learn (instrumental)
6. Time Slipping (instrumental)
7. Sympathy (instrumental)
8. Shoot You Down (instrumental)
9. Drummer Boy (instrumental)
10. European Eyes (instrumental)
11. Screaming In the Darkness (instrumental)
12. Dream Sequence (instrumental)
13. Animal Crazy (long version)
14. Searching for Heaven (demo version)
15. Mr X (7” edit)
16. Dream Sequence (Amazon version)

2xCD tracklist:

Disc 1:

1. Screaming In the Darkness
2. Dream Sequence
3. European Eyes
4. Shoot You Down
5. Sympathy
6. Time Slipping
7. Drummer Boy
8. Thundertunes
9. When Will We Learn
10. Mr X                                             
11. Judgement Day
12. Searching for Heaven
13. The Visitor
14. Animal Crazy                             
15. Dream Sequence II
16. Two Shots
17. Shoot You Down (Peel 3/1980)
18. Sympathy (Peel 3/1980)
19. When Will We Learn (Peel 3/1980)
20. Dream Sequence (Peel 3/1980)

Disc 2:

1. Screaming In the Darkness (live 1981)
2. Searching for Heaven (live 1981)
3. Time Slipping (live 1981)
4. Dream Sequence (live 1981)
5. Two Shots (live 1981)
6. When Will We Learn (live 1981)
7. Mr X (live 1981)
8. Animal Crazy (live 1981)
9. European Eyes (live 1981)
10. Thundertunes (live 1981)
11. Animal Crazy (live 1981)
11. Time Slipping (live 1981)
12. Dream Sequence (live 1981)
14 Two Shots (live 1981)
15. Sympathy (live 1980)
16. Dream Sequence (live 1980)
17. Time Slipping (live 1980)
18. Drummer Boy (live 1980)
19. European Eyes (live 1980)
20. Thundertunes (live 1980)
21. Shoot You Down (live 1980)
22. Judgement Day (live 1980)
23. When Will We Learn (live 1980)

Related Items

P. Manasseh - ANA $11.99
Quick Shop
Paik - Satin Black $13.20
Quick Shop
Pale Fountains, The - Something on My Mind
Pale Fountains, The - Something on My Mind $25.00 - Sold Out
Quick Shop
Pale Horse and Rider - Moody Pike
Pale Horse and Rider - Moody Pike $10.00
Quick Shop
Pale Horse and Rider - These Are The New Good Times
Pale Horse and Rider - These Are The New Good Times $10.00
Quick Shop
Pale Sunday - A Weekend With Jane EP $5.50
Quick Shop
Pale Sunday - Shooting Star EP $5.50
Quick Shop
Pale Sunday - Summertime? $12.00
Quick Shop