Royal Landscaping Society, The - Means of Production

(matcd088: 195269048754)

Release date: 1/21/2022.

17 track CD.


1. Goodbye
2. Bleu Comme Toi
3. 2010
4. Clean
5. Red Sleeping Beauty
6. Friends and Lovers
7. Machine Gun
8. Moon
9. Pictures Of You
10. Frost
11. Autumn
12. Swim
13. I Love You More
14. La La La
15. This Gift
16. A to Fade In
17. Early Sunrays

Spanish band The Royal Landscaping Society formed in Seville in 2012 as a solo project, then expanded into a band, and eventually shrunk to a duo with Cris Romero on vocals, guitar, synths, and machines and David Vidal on bass. With an obvious love for the breezier side of indiepop, the band mixes crystalline guitars and electronics to create shimmery romantic pop that has earned comparisons to Sarah Records legends Brighter and The Field Mice, among others.

In addition to live appearances at the Indietracks Festival and the Birmingham Popfest, the band has released a clutch of celebrated songs on various international labels over the years. The brilliant ‘Means of Production’ collects these various songs into an incredibly cohesive album that will hopefully reach the bigger audience the band rightly deserves.

The album features six tracks from the band’s 2014 eponymous mini-album on French label Beko Disques, a song from a special Beko Olympics compilation, the auspicious Matinée debut from the ‘Matinée Idols’ compilation in 2017, and their incredible contribution to Matinée’s World Cup EP in 2018.  It also includes eight tremendous cover versions of indie classics including songs originally performed by Adorable, The Cure, Etienne Daho, Harper Lee, McCarthy, Slowdive, The Softies, and They Go Boom!  All tracks have been meticulously remastered by the band exclusively for this definitive collection.

The band is working on three simply stunning new recordings that will be released on a 7″ single for Matinée next.  In the meantime, catch up with their impressive backstory perfectly curated on the ‘Means of Production’ album.

Related Items

Molly Hanmer & The Midnight Tokers - Get Loose
Molly Hanmer & The Midnight Tokers - Get Loose $11.40
Quick Shop
Julie Doiron - Julie Doiron Canta En Español Vol. V
Julie Doiron - Julie Doiron Canta En Español Vol. V $8.00
Quick Shop
London Odense Ensemble - Jaiyede Suite, Pt. 2 (Single Version)
London Odense Ensemble - Jaiyede Suite, Pt. 2 (Single Version) $1.20
Quick Shop
Putochinomaricon - Jájá Éqúísdé (Distopía Aburrida)
Putochinomaricon - Jájá Éqúísdé (Distopía Aburrida) $22.22
Quick Shop
Videodrones - After the Fall
Videodrones - After the Fall $8.00
Quick Shop
Minimal Man - The Shroud of
Minimal Man - The Shroud of from $8.00 - $13.99
Quick Shop
Off Land - Excursion
Off Land - Excursion from $8.00 - $11.40
Quick Shop
Videodrones - Void Facer
Videodrones - Void Facer $1.20
Quick Shop