Scenic - Incident At Cima

Independent Project Records
(IPR050: 761971505023/IPR050-3)

Originally released in 1995.

Incident at Cima is the debut album from SCENIC, the group formed by SAVAGE REPUBLIC and IPR founder Bruce Licher.  

Conceived of as an all-instrumental soundtrack for the East Mojave Desert, Licher is joined by former SHIVA BURLESQUE bassist James Brenner and drummer Brock Wirtz, with guest musicians Jeffrey Clark (SHIVA BURLESQUE vocalist), Robert Loveless (former SAVAGE REPUBLIC and 17 PYGMIES member), Chris Manecke (from the ABECEDARIANS) and John Ganem. Together, they have created an aural masterpiece which has received serious critical acclaim.  

David Fricke in ROLLING STONE magazine writes that SCENIC's music "suggests Ennio Morricone dune-surfing in Death Valley."  

Robert Levine in huH magazine describes the album as "a sweeping, swirling (sound) that's full of both darkness and wonder."  

Grant Alden in RAYGUN says, "Incident at Cima plays like futuristic chamber music. It is like nothing else on the landscape."

And that sums it up pretty well.  SCENIC's music is like nothing else on the landscape, and while there is definitely a relation to some of the sounds explored by SAVAGE REPUBLIC during their eight-year existence, SCENIC have created a mature and focused album which is a great leap forward.  

Incident at Cima is an evocative aural journey, a quite listenable and incredibly honest piece of music and as such it has the potential to be appreciated by a wide range of listeners.

The packaging for "Incident at Cima" includes a series of photographs Licher has taken in the East Mojave which relate to the various pieces of music on the album, creating a complete audio/visual experience.

1. The Shifting Sand
2. The Kelso Run
3. Incident At Cima
4. East Mojave Shuffle 
5. Hole In The Wall
6. Carrying On To Cadiz
7. The Mid Hills
8. Down Black Canyon Road 
9. Chiriaco Summit
10. Around Sundown
11. Bossa Dune
12. Predawn
13. On The Dune 
14. The Road To Ivanpah
15. Cima Dome

Related Items

London Odense Ensemble - Sojourner
London Odense Ensemble - Sojourner $1.20
Quick Shop
Olan Mill - Pine
Olan Mill - Pine $8.00 - Sold Out
Quick Shop
London Odense Ensemble - Jaiyede Suite, Pt. 2 (Single Version)
London Odense Ensemble - Jaiyede Suite, Pt. 2 (Single Version) $1.20
Quick Shop
Videodrones - After the Fall
Videodrones - After the Fall $8.00
Quick Shop
Minimal Man - The Shroud of
Minimal Man - The Shroud of from $8.00 - $13.99
Quick Shop
Off Land - Excursion
Off Land - Excursion from $8.00 - $11.40
Quick Shop
Videodrones - Void Facer
Videodrones - Void Facer $1.20
Quick Shop
As If - 10 Views from a Different Angle
As If - 10 Views from a Different Angle from $8.00 - $11.40
Quick Shop