Red Temple Spirits - Dancing to Restore an Eclipsed Moon

Independent Project Records

Originally released in 1988.

The first record from Red Temple Spirits.

Independent Project Records is thrilled to announce the long-awaited reissue of the two phenomenal albums released by this enigmatic Los Angeles band from the late 1980s: Dancing to Restore an Eclipsed Moon and If Tomorrow I Were Leaving For Lhasa, I Wouldn’t Stay a Minute More... 

Originally released in 1988 and 1989, these two albums sound like nothing else from the period, deftly blending gothic post-punk sounds with pagan tribal psychedelia. Red Temple Spirits’ debut has been described as a haunting masterpiece of psychedelic post-punk, laden with exotic musicianship and a unique combination of Native American and Eastern mysticism. 

While shimmering guitar textures weave patterns over heavy hypnotic rhythms, the enchanting lyrical imagery of vocalist William Faircloth brings a trippy, shamanistic quality to the proceedings. Easily some of the most mesmerizing and vital post-punk music ever created, Red Temple Spirits play with an austerity, grace, and pureness to form that remains fresh over two decades after they originally recorded. 

Dancing To Restore An Eclipsed Moon contains ten powerful originals and includes what may be the finest cover version extant of Pink Floyd’s Nile Song. 

The band’s second album has been described as a fully developed excursion into other realms, with rumbling basslines and slithery guitar washes of elegant brilliance. Once again drawing inspiration from Tibetan and Native American cultures, vocalist Faircloth leads the listener through a tangle of mystical themes while the band (guitarist Dallas Taylor, bassist Dino Paredes and drummer Thomas Pierik) skillfully blend heavy tribal rhythms and etherial guitar, building up to moments of extreme tension. 

Sounds magazine described their song Soft Machine as “a beast of a sucker,” and City of Millions was called “a song many bands have died trying to execute.” In addition to the nine originals, If Tomorrow... also features cover versions of Pink Floyd’s Set The Controls For The Heart of The Sun and 13th Floor Elevators' Rollercoaster. 

Both albums have been completely remastered, and are supplemented with three bonus tracks (both sides of the New Land single, originally released on Independent Project Records in 1989, along with a previously unreleased later version of the song New Land). 

1. Exorcism/Waiting for the Sun
2. Liquid Temple
3. Dark Spirits
4. Bear Cave
5. Dreamings Ending
6. Electric Flowers
7. Moonlight
8. Where Merlin Played
9. Nile Song
10. Lost in Dreaming
11. Light of Christ/This Hollow Ground
12. New Land (First Version)

Related Items

Edena Gardens - Hidebound
Edena Gardens - Hidebound $1.20
Quick Shop
Aarktica - Can't Say I've Missed You
Aarktica - Can't Say I've Missed You $1.00
Quick Shop
Krystian Shek - Love
Krystian Shek - Love from $8.00 - $11.40
Quick Shop
Yamaoka - Small Theater
Yamaoka - Small Theater from $8.00 - $11.40
Quick Shop
London Odense Ensemble - Jaiyede Sessions, Vol. 1
London Odense Ensemble - Jaiyede Sessions, Vol. 1 $7.00
Quick Shop
Aarktica - We Will Find the Light
Aarktica - We Will Find the Light from $8.00 - $36.00
Quick Shop
London Odense Ensemble - Sojourner
London Odense Ensemble - Sojourner $1.20
Quick Shop
Olan Mill - Pine
Olan Mill - Pine $8.00 - Sold Out
Quick Shop