Virna Lindt - Shiver

Les Disques du Crepuscule
(TWI195-1: 708527170700/TWI195-2: 708527170717)
Release date: 12/01/2017
Genre: Orchestral Pop, Soundtrack

Les Disques du Crepuscule present an extended double disc reissue of Shiver, the acclaimed debut album by seminal Swedish artist  Virna Lindt, originally released by The Compact Organization in 1983.
Written and produced by Virna Lindt and Tot Taylor, Shiver offers 12 slices of chic orchestrated pop informed by ‘foreign film’ soundtracks, movie composers John Barry and Ennio Morricone, Modernist musique concrete and Cold War spy thrillers. The album spawned three singles: Attention Stockholm, Intelligence and I Experienced Love. For the most part Lindt provides the voiceover for her own narratives, occasionally striking reflective poses amid orchestral swells and multi-layered atmospherics; a clear influence on later acts such as Pulp, St Etienne and Air.
This new edition of Shiver showcases acoustically-enhanced mixes prepared by Taylor and Lindt in 1997, augmented with non-album singles Model Agent and Young & Hip, and immaculate instrumental versions of key album tracks such as Underwater Boy and The Dossier on Virna Lindt. The extended tracklist also finds room for a leftfield cover of Windmills of Your Mind, originally written by Michel Legrand and Alan & Marilyn Bergman for The Thomas Crown Affair and recorded for the Crepuscule compilation album Moving Soundtracks.
Cover photography is by E.A. Janes. The 2xCD edition is housed in a 6 panel digipack with a 12 page booklet. The double vinyl set comes in a stylish gatefold sleeve and includes a free digital copy.
Praise for Shiver ‘Eurocentric Virna Lindt casts herself as a mysterious blonde in a loving pastiche of Continental movie music’ (Sounds); ‘I think of Shiver as Ingmar Bergman’s All These Women cast as 50-odd minutes of musical dialogue. Tot Taylor’s fantastic orchestrations cast a brilliant pale of modern love throughout’ (Fond/Sound); ‘Instead of mere cool styles, there’s far more here than a restrictive stereotype’ (All Music Guide);
Tracklist (2xLP):
A1. Shiver
A2. I Experienced Love
A3. Pillow Talk
A4. Swedish Modern
A5. I Beat the System
A6. The Dossier on Virna Lindt
B1. Attention Stockholm
B2. Underwater Boy 
B3. Letter to Sergei
B4. Intelligence
C1. Windmills of Your Mind
C2. Model Agent
C3. Young & Hip
C4. Man Talk
C5. Groom
C6. Episode 1
D1. Attention Stockholm (inst.)
D2. Shiver (inst.)
D3. The Dossier on Virna Lindt (inst.)
D4. I Beat the System (inst.)
D5. Underwater Boy (Reprise)
Tracklist (2xCD):
Disc 1
1. Shiver
2. I Experienced Love
3. Pillow Talk
4. Swedish Modern
5. I Beat the System
6. The Dossier on Virna Lindt
7. Attention Stockholm
8. Underwater Boy 
9. Letter to Sergei
10. Intelligence

Disc 2
1. Windmills of Your Mind
2. Model Agent
3. Young & Hip
4. Man Talk
5. Groom
6. Episode 1
7. Attention Stockholm (inst.)
8. Shiver (inst.)
9. The Dossier on Virna Lindt (inst.)
10. Underwater Boy (inst.)
11. Windmills of Your Mind (inst.)
12. I Beat the System (inst.)
13. Underwater Boy (Reprise)
14. Intelligence (Hi IQ Mix)
15. Trailers from Shiver

Related Items

Piscine et Charles - Quart de Tour, Mon Amour
Piscine et Charles - Quart de Tour, Mon Amour $22.50
Quick Shop
Gina X Performance - Nice Mover + Voyeur
Gina X Performance - Nice Mover + Voyeur from $15.00 - $27.00
Quick Shop
23 Skidoo -  The Culling Is Coming
23 Skidoo - The Culling Is Coming $13.99
Quick Shop
Blaine L. Reininger - Wounds and Blessings
Blaine L. Reininger - Wounds and Blessings $15.00
Quick Shop
Paul Haig - The Warp of Pure Fun
Paul Haig - The Warp of Pure Fun $30.00
Quick Shop
Campbell, Mallinder, Benge - Clinker
Campbell, Mallinder, Benge - Clinker $23.76
Quick Shop
Buscemi - Mistral du Sud
Buscemi - Mistral du Sud $13.99
Quick Shop
Buscemi ft. Lauve - La Jungle
Buscemi ft. Lauve - La Jungle $8.50
Quick Shop