Section 25 - Always Now

Factory Benelux
(FBN3-045: 708527003480)
Release date: 1981
Genre: Post Punk

Spotify  iTunes  Amazon  Apple  Pandora 

Factory Benelux presents a re-mastered and expanded edition of Always Now, the first album by Section 25, originally issued on Factory Records in 1981 and produced by Martin Hannett.

Recorded as a trio at Pink Floyd's Britannia Row studio in London, Always Now combined austere post-punk rhythms with elements of Can, Krautrock and modern psychedelia. Key tracks include Friendly Fires, Dirty Disco, New Horizon and Hit (sampled by Kanye West on The Life of Pablo), along with non-album singles Charnel Ground, Je Veux Ton Amour and Girls Don't Count - the latter produced by Ian Curtis and Rob Gretton (of Joy Division).

Disc 2 offers a wealth of illuminating bonus tracks, all previously unreleased. These include a three song John Peel session from January 1981, a complete live show professionally recorded at Groningen (Netherlands) in October 1980, and alternate versions of several album tracks newly re-mastered from the original quarter-inch tapes.

This expanded 2xCD edition is housed in a miniature version of the folding pochette wallet designed by Peter Saville, famously one of the most expensive sleeves produced by Factory. The package includes inner sleeves and red I Ching seal sticker.

CD tracklist: (disc 1)

1. Friendly Fires
2. Dirty Disco
3. C.P.
4. Loose Talk (Costs Lives)
5. Inside Out
6. Melt Close
7. Hit
8. Babies In the Bardo
9. Be Brave
10. New Horizon
11. Haunted
12. Charnel Ground
13. Human Puppets
14. Knew Noise
15. Up To You
16. Girls Don't Count
17. Oyo Achel Ada
18. After Image
19. Red Voice

CD tracklist: (disc 2)

1. One True Path (BBC)
2. Babies In the Bardo (BBC)
3. Hit (BBC)
4. Je Veux Ton Amour
5. Loose Talk (live 26.10.1980)
6. Human Puppets (live 26.10.1980)
7. Knew Noise (live 26.10.1980)
8. Friendly Fires (live 26.10.1980)
9. Girls Don't Count (live 26.10.1980)
10. New Horizon (live 26.10.1980)
11. Haunted (live 26.10.1980)
12. You're On Your Own (live 1.11.1980)
13. Floating (demo)
14. Friendly Fires (outtake)
15. One True Path (outtake)

Related Items

Wake, The - Here Comes Everybody
Wake, The - Here Comes Everybody $14.75
Quick Shop
Section 25 - Always Now
Section 25 - Always Now $79.00
Quick Shop
Tunnelvision - Watching the Hydroplanes
Tunnelvision - Watching the Hydroplanes $22.00
Quick Shop
Crispy Ambulance - The Plateau Phase
Crispy Ambulance - The Plateau Phase $24.00 - Sold Out
Quick Shop
Durutti Column, The - Obey the Time
Durutti Column, The - Obey the Time from $18.00 - $24.00
Quick Shop
Durutti Column, The - Without Mercy
Durutti Column, The - Without Mercy from $20.00 - $25.00
Quick Shop
Durutti Column, The - M24J (Anthology)
Durutti Column, The - M24J (Anthology) from $14.75 - $25.00
Quick Shop
Names, The - Swimming
Names, The - Swimming $21.99 - Sold Out
Quick Shop