From the Mouth of the Sun - Sleep Stations EP

Lost Tribe Sound
Release date: 05/18/2018
Genre: Modern Classical, Experimental, Ambient, Drone, Post-Rock

From the Mouth of the Sun (aka Aaron Martin, Dag Rosenqvist) return with ‘Sleep Stations,’ an EP of six new songs, out May 18th, 2018 on Lost Tribe Sound.  ’Sleep Stations’ rests comfortably alongside 2017’s ‘Hymn Binding’ their third full-length album and their original score for Joshua Z. Weinstein’s feature film, ‘Menashe.’  With ‘Sleep Stations’ the duo assures us that their exquisite palette of classical leaning, electro-acoustics reaped from their previous albums still leaves much to be explored.

In fact, the pieces of ‘Sleep Stations’ were composed during many of the same sessions as ‘Hymn Binding’ and ‘Menashe,’ yet they feel like a natural continuation of From the Mouth of the Sun’s sound, a stepping stone towards the next chapter, if you will.  The core sound will be instantly recognizable for those who’ve followed their previous endeavors, comprised of cello, piano, acoustic guitars, lap steel, banjo, ukulele, pump organ, soft humming electronics and warm layer of static.
The title track ‘Sleep Stations’ was originally meant to be included on the album ‘Hymn Binding.’  It acted as a centerpiece and starting point for the music that From the Mouth of the Sun recorded later during the process of scoring the ‘Menashe’ film.  The film ended up requiring an extremely spare palette, thus the ‘Sleep Stations’ EP represents a longing for a fuller and more controlled sound that exhibits the dynamic range that From the Mouth of the Sun strive for with their work.
There is a softness and detachment to ‘Sleep Stations’ more so, that seems to give the album an of aerial view of the landscape below.  Where ‘Hymn Binding’ felt more grounded in the earth and soil, ‘Sleep Stations’ floats high above, feeling weightless, suspended in slow motion flight. 
Arranging ‘Sleep Stations’ as an EP,  has allowed Aaron and Dag to tell a shorter story, one that doesn’t have to be such a grand gesture, which is something they’ve wanted to explore for a while now.  It’s a beautiful reminder, that a collection of music can still be simple yet deeply affecting, without being overwrought and excessive.
1. About the Birth of Stars (1:48)
2. Reaching When Nothing Is There (3:57)
3. About the Life of Stars (3:18)
4. Sleep Stations (6:11)
5. About the Death of Stars (4:24)
6. A Place We Cannot See (2:00)
Music and Arrangements by Dag Rosenqvist & Aaron Martin
Mastering by Matthew Collings
Cover Image: NASA/JPL/U of Arizona
Layout & Design by Ryan Keane
Copyright: Dag Rosenqvist / Aaron Martin / Lost Tribe Sound LLC
Published by Settled Scores LLC 2017
Genres: Modern Classical, Experimental, Ambient, Drone, Post-Rock ///  RIYL: Warren Ellis, Constellation Records, Christoph Berg, Max Richter, Sigur Ros

Related Items

F.S. Blumm - Lichten
F.S. Blumm - Lichten from $9.60 - $12.00
Quick Shop
F.S. Blumm - Meets Luca Fadda $11.99
Quick Shop
Faex Optim - Let’s Pretend
Faex Optim - Let’s Pretend from $8.00 - $11.40
Quick Shop
Faex Optim - Look Around You
Faex Optim - Look Around You from $8.00 - $11.40
Quick Shop
Faex Optim-Tris·kai·dek·a·pho·bi·a
Faex Optim-Tris·kai·dek·a·pho·bi·a $11.40
Quick Shop
Family - Un Soplo En El Corazon
Family - Un Soplo En El Corazon $14.69
Quick Shop
Faster Circuits - Apophenia
Faster Circuits - Apophenia $8.00
Quick Shop
Fauns, The - The Fauns
Fauns, The - The Fauns $16.80 - Sold Out
Quick Shop